My Wishes Aren’t Even Good Enough!

4 01 2011

My daily devotion yesterday had this beautiful paragraph written in it and I want to share it with you, now.

“The Lord does not disappoint those who seek His will. Don’t misunderstand that statement. We might feel temporarily let down when something we hope for is not in God’s plan. But He doesn’t go back on the biblical promise to give His children the best (Isa. 48:17; 64:4). When one door closes, there is another about to open with something better behind it. Friends, the Lord cannot be outdone. We can’t even wish ourselves as much good as God has in store.” (In Touch Ministries)

Sometimes I catch myself daydreaming about good things I want for my own life and a lot of times these daydreams show up while I am in the middle of talking to God. Moments later I realize I have that deer in headlights look and I snap back to reality only I used to apologize to God for getting off track and ruining my prayer time. One day several years ago it hit me that I shouldn’t have to apologize to God for wishing good, beautiful and joyous moments in my life. He is the one who gave me the instinct to desire good things that are beautiful blessings for my life and since God knows my thoughts He’s paying attention to what it is I am dreaming about! The amazing thing is that God takes those thoughts I have in my head and He creates them, at times not determined by me, and they are created in way’s even greater than I am imagining. In other words, move over Hollywood, you’ve got nothing on what God can dream up!

I want that for my life! I want God’s absolute best; knock your socks off; have to pick your jaw up off of the floor; pinch me because I have got to be dreaming type blessings! The next time you happen to catch yourself day dreaming remember, God knows what the desires of your heart are and He will give you those desires if you put your trust in Him.

Passage Psalm 37:4:
Take delight in the Lord,
and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Be blessed and keep dreaming!
Carolyn

Actions

Information




